Creation

CREATIONS

 Rakiya The Artist, Choreographer & Artistic Director in 10 questions

  1. Rakiya The Artist, as an Artist how do you define dance? it is an immersion with a 360 ° vision like the turtles, where you perceive the worlds, the others and yourself. Thanks to this real authentic vision that I was able to balance myself through dance.
  2.  Rakiya The Artist, what is your best artistic memory?
    the spectacle in the Great Moroccan South, it was indescribable, I like to go where I am not expected, places “luxurious in appearance” do not attract me at all. On an emotional level, my strongest memory: when I worked on the realization of Path of life path of body, I relived intense moments of my past with each repetition.
  3. Rakiya The Artist, Choreographer when and how did the idea for a new show come about?
    It is simply life which points the finger at you, a question, a reflection, and if you are attentive you can see the movement genesis of the project. In general, my inspirations often come when I’m in Istanbul, I don’t know why, but honestly I have some clues on why, maybe the subject of a future show… Rakiya The Artist, what are your goals as a choreographer? To live an experience, to break the codes, to open the fields of possibilities. I am very sensitive to the conditions of women in the world and to minorities. Remain honest: the majority of my creations are built on an improvisation where I come to graft decided moments. I need to be surprised every time I dance, to stay spontaneous and listen to my inner being.
  4. Rakiya The Artist, with which artists would you like to collaborate?
    First of all with musicians like Ghalia Benali, titi Robin or Orange Blossom, for the choreographers there are some very good ones in my region like Sofiane Chalal or Afid Zekhinni (with whom I have already collaborated for “Once upon a time oriental dance ”), Carolyn Carlson, Ohad Noharin and above all Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui.
    I like to meet others especially when I am touched by the sensitivity of their artistic work. Writers and actors, painters and any form of art or not, I would like to do everything in this life.
  5. Rakiya The Artist your productions are independent, how do you proceed as artistic director?
    Yes indeed from the start I wanted to make my productions from A to Z. For me it is a way of remaining free. At present, I am completely ready to receive aid from sponsorship or any other form of aid, because my projects are becoming more and more important.
  6. Rakiya The Artist how is the artistic direction of Compagnie Arabesque going?
    In 2020 we will be celebrating twenty years already, but at the beginning of the history the company was a troop, it is in 2017 that it is transformed into an official company and recognized by the Federation Wallonia Brussels performing arts. It is a superb reward and a new breath in future projects!
  7. Rakiya The Artist what difficulties do you encounter in Belgium in your work as a choreographer?
    The first thing that comes to my mind are dancers, finding motivated multidisciplinary dancers who can engage in the medium term and who like risk. Then the opportunities in Belgium are not as present as in a country like the Netherlands or the United States, it is clear, but hey the opportunities I create them alone. Is the profession of choreographer recognized in Belgium? No not really, but it is not specific to the choreographer, it is a general ignorance in all the dance professions in the broad sense.
  8. Rakiya The Artist, you are a multidisciplinary dancer, how do you define your style exactly?
    I love contrasts, water and fire, things and their opposites, paradox in all its splendor. I need to consume dance with all the sauces, perhaps by my plural origins too? And I encourage young dancers to do the same, let’s avoid compartmentalization, it’s never positive, let’s mix, mix!
  9. Rakiya The Artist, are you currently working on a project?
    Yes of course! I define myself as hyperactive, I am in full reflection on identities… but I do not say more. I’m thinking of producing this show for 2021, if all goes well. In addition to this show, I am working on setting up a dance project never before done in Europe. I reserve the surprise for you soon …

Creations

Azulejos new show under construction

Azulejos is the latest creation of chprégraphe Rakiya The Artist, she brought together 4 artists from different backgrounds

Meeting of a singer, a flamenco guitarist, an Arab percussionist and a dancer to express yourself “Azulejos” in Portuguese from the Arabic word “Al-zuleij” which means “small polished stone”.

It is a tile or a set of decorated earthenware tiles. These tiles are decorated with geometric patterns or figurative representations during the period A tradition that dates back to the 13th century in Portugal, Spain, and the Maghreb countries.

Premiere on Sunday June 20 at 3 p.m. at Arabesque.

Look (S)

 

What is my perspective on things, on the past on the current situation that we all live with from a point of view specific to the individual, family and culture. Is my angle of view correct? is my gaze a source of judgment? Does my point of view influence my gaze and all my senses?

The perspective that life offers us is definitely fueled by the way we look at things or not, in this experimental choreographic work, we have with all the actors questioned our own habits of life and movement, the pandemic have allowed us to live this experience 24 hours a day. Are we capable of questioning everything by a simple change of gaze?

 

 

 

 

 

Dance and poetry – A dancer & an actress

Save the planet – counted dance and magic show

A marvelous show for young and old where dance, theater and magic meet …

synopsis: Natural disasters are unfolding, the climate is changing: our planet is in bad shape Help Naya, Alona, ​​Thétys and their friends to find the magic objects through the dances and cultures of the world in order to restore peace. Tick, tock, tick, tock… Hurry up, time is running out in order to save the planet

Mosaic

 

A dancing, festive and poetic journey through the mosaic of Arab cultures: from Morocco, to Egypt via Algeria, Tunisia, Iraq, Turkey,….

 

 

 

Raices- Roots


“Raices” means Roots in Spanish. It is a creation that addresses the decompartmentalized vision of dance according to Rakiya The Artist ©. The dancers of the Arabesque Company evolve in this show from a traditional flamenco to an unbridled flamenco and influenced by the various ramifications of Spanish Dance.

Resonance

As part of the Corps en Accord project developed by the Asbl Arabesque, Résonance will be presented during the  second edition “  Cabaret d’Art ” project.

Rakiya The Artist comes back to us in a new creation: ” Resonance  “. With this new show the artist invites us to discover what resonates in her in her life as a woman, daughter, mother of wife and “worker of the body. »And which gives birth to his movement, his movements, his emotions and his sensitivity.
The body, nature, ancestors, words, noise; how do all these elements take shape in his artistic universe?

The show is interactive, it takes the form of a walk in the beautiful establishment that houses the Asbl Arabesque; place conducive to creation and meetings. Other invited people will take part in this reflection.

75 minutes / 7 dancers / creation March 2019 / participatory show in the form of a walk / workshop included in the show.

Path of life, path of the body

Autobiographical show by and with Rakiya The Artist.

Between legacies, dialogues,

reflections, introspections and sharing, “  Path of life, path of body”  invites you to the heart of the artistic universe of this atypical artist, rich in his differences.  Belgian artist of Hispano-Moroccan origin, this artist gives us a dance colored by the multiple influences that mark out her life course. In this new creation, both intimate and universal, dance stages this journey and reveals the creative and founding tensions of a personal mythology in which the grace of classical dance, the passion for flamen co, the Berber heritage and other influences gleaned from the rhythms of the meetings. “Path of life, Path of body” asks us this essential question of multiple identity, its genesis and itsdevelopment, in a society threatened by identity withdrawal and silos . ” 

 75 minutes / 6 dancers / 1 musician / creation November 2015 / all audiences / 60-minute bodily expression workshop for all.

Artistic Director: Rakiya The Artist.


#Traveling Arab Spring  

After the events that triggered the Arab Spring in 2010, what about?

It is on this initial reflection that the project was born at Brussels national airport, during the disappearance on May 19, 2016 of flight 804 Paris Charles de Gaule Cairo of the company Egyptair.

An artistic testimony on the situation in the Middle East and the consequences through Art in general. Through the eyes of different artists from the countries concerned by the events, an oriental orchestra composed of four musicians who evolve together through the strong instruments that make up the music of the Middle East.

75 minutes / 3 dancers / 4 musicians / creation March 2016 / all audiences / creative workshop around oriental percussion of 60 minutes for all.

Artistic direction: Rakiya The Artist.


 Cabaret d’Art; meet the arts.

15909412_10211749688279760_611035330_oAfter his creation and his moving interpretation in “Path of life, path of body”, Rakiya The Artist is back on stage for a work this time less intimate certainly but just as fascinating. Passion, in fact, is what sets the pace for our choreographer’s approach! Rakiya The Artist has been active in mental health for a few years, it is a sector that particularly affects her: ” For me, the view that society has on mental health is a form of exclusion, in the same way as cultural exclusion. »Yes, it touches me! This difference which scares most people, inspires me! “

For this new show, Rakiya The Artist decided to set in motion works made by people struggling to live, to give them life through his reading and his feelings about the work as well as his meeting with the artist. In the form of a “walking show”, the spectators will evolve to meet the dances, a form of artistic transhumance.

75 minutes / 4 to 6 dancers / 2 painters / creation March 2015 / creative dance and drawing workshop of 60 minutes for all.

Artistic direction: Rakiya The Artist


“Once upon a time there was oriental dance”

Show performed in four tables, from the Pharaonic era to the dancers of tomorrow. Rakiya The Artist takes us back to a time when dance is the master of ceremonies. Far from the clichés and received ideas of this ancestral art, with humor and lightness. Through this show we understand how oriental dance is today what it is thanks to the rest of the world. These exchanges of wealth have grown and strengthened this art, resulting from fertility rites which is an ode to the sacred feminine.

75 minutes / 6 to 8 dancers / 2 musicians / creation November 2010/60-minute bodily expression workshop for all.

Artistic direction: Rakiya The Artist


Parents / children show

Support and accompany the educational and parental functions.

Dance as an agent of change, the dance that brings us together. Allow us to see and feel things differently. This is the challenge of this adventure. Put in dance the problems encountered between children and their parents, intergenerational conflicts, children’s desire for freedom, parental overprotection, the gaze of the other within our own family. We will also have the opportunity to look at emotions, identify them and recognize them in body language. Defuse conflicts and de-dramatize them to allow everyone to grow. To value the parent and the child, to favor the privileged moments of relationship between the child and his parent. Prioritize timeslistening and sharing, the difficulties encountered by parents in the education of their child (ren). Value and support the roles and educational skills of parents.

If you want to organize this type of project contact us on rakiyatheartist@gmail.com


festival_carre_Mons le Manège Square Festival, 2011

As part of the theme ”  Arab times “, Rakiya presents a creation ”  Rencontres  “, between Egyptian oriental dances and Spanish music, like the political climate and the Arab Spring, Rakiya offers cohesion through art.


Self-production / Morocco 2008, creation  ” Homage to Farid el Atrach and Samia Gamal ” 

In association with the cultural house of Tiznit. Belgium in November 2007. A show dedicated to the Egyptian singer Farid el Atrach and his great love of the time: the dancer Samia Gamal. The story of their life and their forbidden love, in the golden age of Egyptian cinema. This project was born from the family love for these artists and from a desire to propose to the land of these ancestors of art as a woman artist entrepreneur. This project was a social, relational and emotional triumph in the region. Rakiya graciously gave dance workshops in centers and schools in the region.

Self-production / Belgium 2007 ” Tribute to Farid el Atrach and Samia Gamal ”

Créations

 Rakiya The Artist, Chorégraphe & Directrice artistique en 10 questions

  1. Rakiya The Artist, en tant qu’Artiste comment définissez- vous la danse ? c’est une immersion avec une  vision en 360° comme les tortues, où tu perçois les mondes, les autres et toi- même. Grâce à cette vraie vision authentique que j’ai pu me mettre en équilibre  à travers la danse.
  2.  Rakiya The Artist, quel est votre meilleur souvenir artistique?
    le spectacle dans le Grand Sud Marocain, c’était indescriptible, j’aime aller là où on ne m’attend pas, les endroits  » luxueux dans le paraître » ne m’attirent pas du tout. Sur le plan émotionnel, mon souvenir le plus fort: lorsque j’ai travaillé à  la réalisation de Chemin de vie chemin de corps, je revivais des moments intenses de mon passé à chaque répétition.
  3. Rakiya The Artist, Chorégraphe quand et comment vient l’idée d’un nouveau spectacle?
    C’est simplement la vie qui te le pointe du doigt, une question, une réflexion, et si tu es attentif tu peux apercevoir le mouvement genèse du projet. En général, mes inspirations surviennent souvent quand je suis à Istanbul, je ne sais pas pourquoi, mais honnêtement j’ai des pistes sur le pourquoi, peut- être l’objet d’un futur spectacle…Rakiya The Artist, quels sont vos objectifs en tant que chorégraphe?Vivre une expérience, casser les codes, ouvrir les champs des possibles.Je suis très sensible aux conditions de la femme dans le monde et aux minorités. Rester intègre: la majorité de mes créations se construisent sur une improvisation où je viens greffer des moments décidés. J’ai besoin d’être surprise à chaque fois que je danse.Rester spontanée à l’écoute de mon être profond.
  4. Rakiya The Artist, avec quels artistes souhaiteriez collaborer?
    Tout d’abord avec des musiciens comme Ghalia Benali, titi Robin ou Orange Blossom, pour les chorégraphes ils y en a de très bons dans ma région comme Sofiane Chalal  ou Afid Zekhinni (avec qui j’ai déjà collaboré pour « Il était une fois la danse orientale ») , Carolyn Carlson, Ohad Noharin et avant tout Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui.
    J’aime aller à la rencontre des autres surtout lorsque je suis touchée par la sensibilité de leur travail artistique. Les écrivains et comédiens, peintres et toute forme d’art ou pas, j’aimerai tout faire dans cette vie.
  5. Rakiya The Artist vos productions sont indépendantes, comment procédez- vous en tant que directrice artistique?
    Oui en effet dès le début j’ai tenu à réaliser de A à Z mes  productions. Pour moi c’est une manière de rester libre. A présent, je suis tout à fait disposée à recevoir des aides du mécénat ou tout autre forme d’aides, car mes projets prennent de plus en plus d’ampleur.
  6. Rakiya The Artist comment se passe la direction artistique de la Compagnie Arabesque ?
    En 2020 on fêtera les vingt ans déjà, mais au début de l’histoire la compagnie était une troupe, c’est en 2017 qu’elle c’est transformée en compagnie officielle et reconnue par la Fédération Wallonie Bruxelles arts de la scène. C’est une superbe récompense et un nouveau souffle dans les projets futurs!
  7. Rakiya The Artist quelles difficultés rencontrez- vous en Belgique dans votre travail de chorégraphe?
    La première chose qui me vient à l’esprit ce sont les danseurs, dénicher des danseurs pluridisciplinaires motivés qui peuvent s’engager sur le moyen terme et qui aiment le risque. Ensuite  les opportunités en Belgique ne sont pas aussi présentes que dans un pays comme les Pays- Bas ou les Etats- Unis c’est clair, mais bon les opportunités je les crée seule. Est -ce que le métier de Chorégraphe est reconnu en Belgique? Non pas vraiment, mais ce n’est pas propre au chorégraphe, c’est une méconnaissance générale dans tous les métiers de la danse au sens large.
  8. Rakiya The Artist, vous êtes une danseuse pluridisciplinaire, comment définissez-vous votre style exactement?
    J’aime les contrastes, l’eau et le feu, les choses et leurs contraires, le paradoxe dans toute sa splendeur. J’ai besoin de consommer la danse à toutes les sauces, peut- être par mes origines plurielles aussi? Et j’encourage les jeunes danseurs à faire de même, évitons les cloisonnements ce n’est jamais positif, mélangeons, mixons!
  9. Rakiya The Artist, travaillez- vous en ce moment sur un projet?
    oui bien entendu! Je me définis comme hyperactive, je suis en pleine réflexion sur les identités… mais je n’en dit pas plus. Je pense produire ce spectacle pour 2021,si tout va bien. En plus de ce spectacle, je travaille à la mise en place d’un projet sur la danse jamais réalisé en Europe. je vous réserve la surprise pour bientôt…

Les Créations

Raices- Racines


“ Raices” veut dire Racines en espagnol. C’est une création qui aborde la vision décloisonnée de la danse selon Rakiya The Artist©. Les danseurs de la compagnie Arabesque évoluent dans se spectacle d’ un flamenco traditionnel vers un flamenco débridé et influencé par les diverses ramifications de la Danse espagnole.

Résonance

Dans le cadre du projet Corps en Accord développé par l’Asbl Arabesque, Résonance sera présenté durant le projet « Cabaret d’Art » deuxième édition.

Rakiya The Artist nous reviens dans une nouvelle création  :  » Résonance » .Avec ce nouveau spectacle l’artiste nous invite à découvrir ce qui résonne en elle dans sa vie de femme, de fille , de mère d’épouse et de « travailleuse du corps » et qui donne naissance à son mouvement, à ses mouvements, à ses émotions et sa sensibilité.
Le corps, la nature, les ancêtres, les mots, le bruit; comment tous ces éléments prennent forme dans son univers artistique?

Le spectacle est interactif, il se présente sous une forme de promenade au sein du bel établissement qui abrite l’Asbl Arabesque; lieu propice à la création et aux rencontres. D’autres personnes invitées prendront part à cette réflexion.

75 minutes/7 danseuses/création mars 2019/ spectacle participatif sous forme de promenade/atelier inclus dans le spectacle.

Chemin de vie , chemin de corps

Spectacle autobiographique de et avec Rakiya The Artist .

Entre héritages , dialogues,

réflexions , introspections et partages, « Chemin de  vie , chemin de corps »  vous invite au cœur de l’univers artistique de cet artiste  atypique , riche des ses différences . Artiste belge d’origine hispano-marocaine, cette artiste nous livre une danse colorée par les multiples influences qui jalonnent son parcours de vie. Dans cette nouvelle création tout à la fois intime et universelle, la danse met en scène ce parcours et dévoile les tensions créatrices et fondatrices d’une mythologie personnelle dans laquelle se côtoient la grâce de la danse classique, la passion du flamenco, l’héritage berbère et d’autres influences glanées aux rythmes des rencontres. « Chemin de vie, Chemin de corps » nous pose cette question essentielle de l’identité multiple, sa genèse et son développement, dans une société menacée par le repli identitaire et les cloisonnements. « 

 75 minutes/ 6 danseurs/ 1 musicien/ création novembre 2015/tout public/Atelier d’expression corporelle de 60 minutes pour tous.

Directrice Artistique : Rakiya The Artist.


#Travelling Printemps Arabe  

Après les événements déclencheurs du printemps Arabe en 2010 , qu’en est- il?

C’est sur cette réflexion de départ que le projet est né à l’aéroport Bruxelles national, lors de la disparition le 19 mai 2016 du vol 804 Paris Charles de Gaule Le Caire de la compagnie Egyptair .

Un témoignage artistique sur la situation au Moyen-Orient et les conséquences à travers l’Art en général. A travers les yeux de différents artistes issus des pays concernés par les événements.Un orchestre oriental composé de quatre musiciens qui évoluent ensemble à travers les instruments forts qui composent la musique du Moyen Orient.

75 minutes/ 3 danseurs/ 4 musiciens/création mars 2016/tout public/ atelier créatif autour de percussion orientale de 60 minutes pour tous.

Direction artistique: Rakiya The Artist.


 Cabaret d’Art ; à  la rencontre des arts.

15909412_10211749688279760_611035330_oAprès sa création et son interprétation bouleversante dans « Chemin de vie chemin de corps » , Rakiya The Artist est de retour sur les planches pour un travail cette fois moins intimiste certes mais tout aussi passionnant.  La passion en effet,  c’est ce qui rythme la démarche de notre chorégraphe! Rakiya The Artist est active au sein de la santé mentale depuis quelques années, c’est un secteur qui la touche particulièrement:  » Pour moi le regard que la société a sur la santé mentale est une forme d’exclusion, au même titre que l’exclusion culturelle.  » Oui , ça me touche! Cette différence qui fait peur à la plupart des gens , moi elle m’inspire ! »

Pour ce nouveau spectacle, Rakiya The Artist a décidé de mettre en mouvement des œuvres réalisées par des personnes en mal de vivre, de leur donner vie à travers sa lecture et son ressenti face à l’œuvre ainsi que sa rencontre avec l’artiste. Sous forme de « spectacle promenade »,  les spectateurs évolueront à la rencontre des danses ;une forme de transhumance artistique.

75 minutes/4 à 6 danseurs/2 artistes peintres/création mars 2015/ atelier créatif danse et dessin de 60 minutes pour tous.

Direction artistique : Rakiya The Artist


« Il était une fois la danse orientale »

Spectacle acté en quatre tableaux, de l’ère pharaonique aux danseuses de demain. Rakiya The Artist  nous fait voyager dans ce temps où la danse est le maître de cérémonie. Loin des clichés et des idées reçues de cet art ancestral, avec humour et légèreté. A travers ce spectacle on comprend comment la danse orientale est aujourd’hui ce qu’elle est grâce au reste du monde. Ces échanges de richesses ont grandi et renforcé cet art,  issu des rites de fertilité qui est une ode au sacré féminin.

75 minutes/6 à 8 danseurs/2 musiciens/création novembre 2010/atelier d’expression corporelle de 60 minutes pour tous.

Direction artistique : Rakiya The Artist


Spectacle parents/enfants

Soutenir et accompagner les fonctions éducatives et parentales.

La danse acteur du changement, la danse qui nous rapproche. Nous permettre de voir et de ressentir les choses autrement. Voilà le défi de cette aventure. Mettre en danse les problèmes rencontrés entre les enfants et leurs parents, les conflits intergénérationnels, l’envie de liberté des enfants, la surprotection parentale, le regard de l’autre au sein de notre propre famille. Nous aurons aussi l’occasion de nous pencher sur les émotions, les identifier et les reconnaître dans le langage corporel. Désamorcer les conflits et les dédramatiser pour permettre à chacun de grandir. Valoriser le parent et l’enfant, favoriser les moments privilégiés de relation entre l’enfant et son parent. Privilégier des temps d’écoute et de partage, des difficultés rencontrées par les parents face à l’éducation de leur(s) enfant(s). Valoriser et soutenir  les rôles et compétences éducatives des parents.

Si vous souhaitez organiser ce type de projet contactez-nous sur rakiyatheartist@gmail.com


festival_carre_Festival au carré Mons le Manège, 2011

Dans le cadre du thème « temps Arabes « , Rakiya y présente une création « Rencontres « , entre les danses orientales égyptiennes et la musique espagnole, à l’instar du climat politique et du printemps arabe, Rakiya propose  une cohésion par l’art .


Autoproduction/ Maroc 2008, création  » Hommage à Farid el Atrach et Samia Gamal « 

En association avec la maison culturelle de Tiznit. Belgique en novembre 2007. Un spectacle dédié au chanteur Egyptien Farid el Atrach et à son grand amour de l’époque: la danseuse Samia Gamal. L’ histoire de leur vie et de leur amour interdit, à l’âge d’or du cinéma égyptien. Ce projet est né de l’amour familial pour ces artistes et d’une volonté de proposer sur la terre de ces ancêtres de l’art en tant que femme artiste entrepreneuse. Ce projet fût un triomphe social, relationnel et affectif dans la région. Rakiya a gracieusement  donné des stages de danses dans les centres et les écoles de la région.

Autoproduction/Belgique 2007  » Hommage à Farid el Atrach et Samia Gamal «